I’m not dead yet…

Hello, first post in almost a month!  I could give a long string of excuses as to why I haven’t posted anything since the 11th of last month, but it mostly boils down to the fact that I just haven’t fucking felt like it.  I think I’ve reached that familiar place (this is my third try at this, you know) where the novelty of blogging has worn off entirely.  I no longer feel the need to share my every thought with the internet at large, and if I do it’s usually short enough to put it on Facebook.

But I thought I’d drop a line to those of you that read regularly and might actually care about my well-being.  I have not contracted some bizarre flesh-eating virus that ate away my fingers so I can’t type anymore.  I haven’t finally won the lottery without actually buying a ticket and run off to some secluded island to be a hermit.  In the words of Monte Python, “I’m not dead yet.”  (“I don’t want to go on the cart,” is my favorite line from that sketch, BTW.  Makes me completely lose my shit every time.)

I’ve just been really busy.

I went to a wedding.  Totally rocked my Chucks and a pair of leggings under my dress during the reception, and was told by Ren that I’m the only person she knows who can pull that off.

I danced two separate performances in the same weekend.  It was nuts.

I paid for my surgery (one month and thirteen days to go).  I am now incredibly broke.

I started taking Prozac.  Only for the two weeks around my period, though.  The new lady-doctor is quite amazing; she’s having me try this is conjunction with my old birth control.  I started the white pills of the HBC today, and thanks to the Prozac have only been highly emotional the last couple of evenings.  Aunt Flo’s on her way, and I’m not a complete basket-case.  It’s awesome.

I’ve spent the last three weeks at work pouring over 326 room utilization reports, created a 22-slide presentation on said utilization reports, and given said presentation to a room full of people who I was quite certain might eat me alive if they didn’t like what I had to say.  Luckily, I was able to phrase myself in a way that said, “Here’s the problem we have, and here’s some ways that we can fix it,” instead of what I kind of really meant, “Here’s how you’re doing it wrong.”  And I not only lived to see another day, I’ve been thanked for all my hard work by four or five of them so far.  Who would have thought logic and reason would be so well received in Academia?

I’ve started learning my 9th choreography for the year.  That does not include the two I’m writing/thinking of writing in what little spare time I have, or the combos I’ve written and taught to my class (which keeps getting smaller and smaller; I like to think I’m weeding out the quitters).  I currently need to remember eight of those nine, and one more I learned at the end of last year on top of that.  How my brain can hold any more is beyond me.

In case you were wondering, I’ve been a busy girl.  I’ve even done some more stuff on top of all that, like wrote another newsletter for the dance company (available for your viewing pleasure at http://dfthnewsletter.wordpress.com/category/vol-2-issue-5/; you can also contribute to our upcoming show if you want at www.indiegogo.com/projects/dance-from-the-heart-presents-domari; the proceeds go to benefit a local Alzheimer’s research center), clocked about 32 hours of dance time just between rehearsals and classes (i.e., not including personal practice time), watched the entire first season of New Girl (loving it), and read more articles about the government shutdown than I probably should have (congress, can we all please just play nice in the sandbox together and fix our problems?  A lot of people are out of work or not getting paid for it because you’re being a bunch of two-year-olds).  Also, my nephew turned two, and I got to talk to him on the phone for about 45 seconds before he got distracted by his toys.

Maybe I’ll make an effort to write more in the next few weeks.  But for now this busy, busy girl will continue listening to She & Him and doing absolutely nothing for the rest of the day.  I think I’ve earned it.

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

