Whirling Performance: Peponi by The Piano Guys

Ren and I finally figured out how to get the video off her phone, with the help of her wonderful IT-savvy husband.  🙂  The video misses most of the entrance and gets a little blurry in the middle, but that’s technology for you.

Anyway, this is my first ever whirling performance from June 30th, at a show hosted by my Egyptian belly dance instructor.  I’d been working on this piece since January, and I’m sure I’ll perform it again given a good opportunity.  It’s my own interpretation of whirling, done to an African cover of Coldplay’s “Paradise”…you know, since I’m a fusion dancer and thus incapable of doing anything traditionally.  Let’s face it, traditional isn’t even in my vocabulary.

I was really nervous about it, especially after my instructor told me I was closing the show.  I was still a bit worried that people wouldn’t get it, that after the initial “dude, she’s been spinning like a whole minute!” wore off it would be boring.  I made sure to explain in my intro that it’s supposed to be meditative, that this was my own spin (ha, pun) on a spiritual dance, but still I worried.

Until the instant I stepped in front of that audience.  It was like the performer in me took over, banishing my anxiety and throwing everything in me into that moment.  Like most good performances, and most cases of spiritual ecstasy, I don’t exactly remember it.  The whole thing is a blur, both figuratively and literally.  But I got a lot of good feedback after, with person after person coming up to tell me how cool it was or asking where I’d learned to do it.  The best comment was from another dancer; she told me she could feel the energy in the room, in this breathtaking, electric way that she couldn’t fully describe.  I figure if at least one person felt that way, I did what I set out to do.

Just wanted to share it with you all, in case any of my real-life peeps couldn’t be there or any of you blog-o-sphere folks were curious.  If you haven’t been reading along with us and are wondering what in the hell I’m doing in that video, please see here.

 

(Someone let me know that the video wasn’t playing because it said it was protected; I think I’ve fixed it now.  Let me know if it doesn’t work.)

Video | This entry was posted in Dance, Spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

